The Disney Diaries: Welcome to Wonderland

1

For so long, I’ve worried about where my future will lead after college. What will I do? Where will I go? For the first time in my life, I would be free of the “structure” – the contrivance of regimented schedules built in and around our younger years, starting from preschool, to elementary school, all the way to college. This was the way you’re supposed to go. Follow the yellow brick road, they said, and I did.

But there was always a small, scary thought at the back of my mind that became not-so-small as the end of my college years approached: what next?

It was a good question, one that everyone is forced to answer. I saw people older than me successfully make the transition; find jobs, travel onwards, land on their feet. Some people even got married. Me? I had no idea what I was doing.

Until, that is, a few days ago, when I got the invitation from Disney to become a part of their Disney College Program. If you know me, then you know I adore everything Disney – their theme park in Anaheim is practically my second home. The DCP teaches college students and recent graduates in-the-field skills in various theme park roles, and many DCP students make the transition to professional internships after the program is over. I’ve been assigned to Walt Disney World in Florida, where I will work at the resort while living at a program members-only apartment with like-minded people.

I’ve created a new ‘Disney’ category, which will work similarly to my ‘Life In Korea’ category that I used when I was working in Korea several summers ago. I plan to document everything I do – from the moment the wheels touch down on the Orlando tarmac to the very last day. And you’re all invited for the ride.

Let’s make some beautiful memories together.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Scribble

