Diary: Something Moves in the Night

 

I tend to write when I’m bored. Most of the time, whatever scenario I imagine begins and ends in my head; I simply don’t have the motivation to put pen to paper.

Other times, I scribble a few words on a piece of napkin and call it a day.

A somewhat more rare moment is when I take out my doodling notebook – yes, I have a notebook for doodling – and write in that. It began as a place for me to begin working on a long-term novel; that fizzled out (as expected), and as it stands right now, it is a mish-mash of disjointed ideas and letters.

Even more rarer still, I write on my blog. Blog diaries are rare for two reasons: one, my keyboard is complete and utter shit, and two, my blog is public – which means I can’t write anything too sensitive. A shame, because some of my best writing comes when I write about things and people close to me.

But sometimes, I wonder just how, exactly, I’ve managed to keep up appearances on this blog. It’s been running for a little more than two years now – a very long time in my book – and I even updated the front page yesterday. Oh my God it looks so professional.

My diary entries are written pretty much in a stream of consciousness style. That is, I don’t think about what I write. I just do. And I could care less, because after all, it’s my bloody diary.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mirna says:

    I have public blog but also I have a private one. But, I have to admit that I like the private one more because I write freely in there, they’re more emotional but also like having more soul (I don’t know how to describe it. haha!). I want to make it public sometimes, just so others can read it and I hope I can inspire them from something I took lessons from. But then again, if I make it public, I won’t be able to write freely in there again. It’s a dilemma, isn’t it?

    1. Yes, I definitely agree – writing only for yourself makes the writing itself better, somehow, since I’m not being shackled by expectations.

Leave a Scribble

