Life in Korea: Final Thoughts…

Well, it’s been fun.

As my two-month voyage comes to a close, I can – finally – sit back and reminisce about everything that I’ve accomplished, everything that I had hoped would happen, and some things that – unfortunately – didn’t turn out as I had hoped it would. Of course there are disappointments; I didn’t get SNSD’s autograph, for one, and I didn’t get to spend as much time as I had hoped with a couple of friends here in Korea.

But…on the whole, I have to say that my expectations were met One Hundred and Twenty percent.

My first and foremost objective for coming to Korea was to experience the newsroom at The Korea Times. And experience it I did – day after day after day, from 8 AM to 4PM, Monday through Thursdays. I would write article after article after article, and I have to say that I got into a sort of routine after a couple of days…write for a few hours, slack off a little…talk with my intern friends in the office…then pick up the pace again before I had to leave.

But that wasn’t all. All work and no play makes for a very boring vacation, so to speak.

I experienced so much that I couldn’t have done otherwise – went to many exciting places, formed many lasting friendships, had once-in-a-lifetime experiences that I never could’ve had if I had just stayed in America whiling away the summer.

People who haven’t experienced it wouldn’t know about the thrill of catching the last car of the subway a millisecond before the doors close shut, the joyous feeling when you emerge from the exit and -IT’S NOT RAINING!- , the pride you feel when you wave your arm in a very *suave* manner and a taxi screeches to a halt in front of you.

The feeling when you’re walking down Gwanghwamun with your headphones snugly around your ears, your satchel tugging at your side and the wind rustling through your hair.

The feeling when you suddenly find yourself craving an Ice Americano and you stop by a Caffe Bene to sit by yourself at a small table in the corner, and watch the foot traffic rush outside through the glass windows.

The feeling when you give up your seat for an old lady lugging three bags full of newspapers.

The feeling when you suddenly realize,

You’re in Seoul.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Awww. I enjoyed your Life in Korea blog. Thanks for sharing your experience there.

  2. Adeline says:

    Oh, it’s already over ? :O
    Time flies to fast… But it’s good to see that you had a great time over there!
    Have a safe flight back 😉

Leave a Scribble

