Life In Korea: Korean Pizza

So words cannot describe the sheer level of “WTF is this??” I felt when I first came upon this unique specimen. Take a look:

 

 

This is available from Pizza Hut, and is called the “Rich Gold” pizza (yeah, I don’t know either). I ordered the “Bulgogi Rich Gold” which has – you guessed it – bulgogi (Korean marinated beef) on top of it. There are several other kinds, as well.

That yellow stripe that’s laid down around the circumference of the pizza? That’s a ring of sweet potatoes. Actual sweet potatoes. I must admit, they taste really good – they match pretty well with the taste of the pizza itself, although I’m not sure how well it would hold up with some of the other toppings that were available.

Pizza toppings in Korea come in many weird varieties – just a few days ago, I tried the “Camembert Seafood” pizza from Pizza Hut, which was an…interesting…experience in the gastronomical preferences of South Koreans (read:  it tasted horrible).

In any case, it was a unique experience – something that I hadn’t expected to have when I first came here, but interesting nonetheless.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Janice says:

    Ooh,ok,i’m quite open to foods of all kinds coz i always tell myself that i only live once and can only tell of own experiences.
    With your article,i’m dying to try the different kinds available in korea!!singapore pizza hut’s bleh to me.lols!!
    And that pizza has goguma!!!lovely!
    Thanks M3!

  2. Adeline says:

    I’ll be honest: this doesn’t look appealing at all.
    Camembert & seafood ??? Oh, such a blasphemy!!! What the hell were they thinking ????

Leave a Scribble

