Life In Korea: Shindang-Dong Ddukbokki (신당동 떡볶이)

Arguably the most well-known Korean food around the world is ddukbokki – the fiery dish that consists of rice cakes and vegetables, all mixed together in a spicy red pepper paste and served piping hot.

And also arguably, the best place in the world to get ddukbokki is in Shindang-Dong, a small neighborhood in Seoul. To give you an idea of how famous Shindang-Dong ddukbokki is, the city has labeled a special segment of the town as  “Ddukbokki Town”, much like we have “Chinatown” and “Pier 39” in San Francisco.

I visited Shindang-Dong yesterday to try out the ddukbokki for myself. It delivered, 100%. Absolutely heavenly. Gorgeous. Like I had sprouted a pair of wings and had floated to ddukbokki heaven.

Enough of me talking, onto the pics!

Welcome to Shindang-dong Ddukbokki Town!
The very first ddukbokki place to open - and the one that I visited: "Mabokrim Ddukbokki".
Although it was only 4 in the afternoon, the place was *packed* to the gills.
The menu sign doesn't give you much choice - only for how many servings of ddukbokki you'll be ordering.
What the pan looks like before it's cooked...
...while it's being cooked...
...and after it's finished cooking.
I apologize for the horrible, horrible lighting in the photo. But really, I was too busy eating.
The aftermath. Who's the person sitting across from me? You will never know. 😉
Okay, so after I finished, I went to check out the place where they filmed "We Got Married". This is the restaurant - and there are the famous stairs.
...and they had this set up outside. Looks like the owners know how to do business.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. ancru says:

    Hi Mountain Madman,
    You’re the one subbing yongseo in wgm before right? I am only a lurker in the soompi thread. Anyway, my friends and I are going to Korea on Oct. 27 and we’ll be staying near Myeongdong. Since I am the one preparing our itinerary, and only 2 of us are fans of Yongseo, I’m trying to squeeze (as much as I can) in our tight schedule some yongseo filming locations. I am currently searching on Shindang-dong and your site was displayed on the search page. So if you’re not busy, I am hoping you can help me on how to get there.
    Also, would like to ask if picture-taking outside the yongseo house in sangdo-dong will be allowed?
    Thank you so much! 🙂

    1. Hi,

      As for directions for Sindang-dong, your best bet is the subway; take Line 4 from Myeongdong towards Danggogae, then transfer to Line 2 at Dongdaemun History & Culture Park, outer circle line. Sindang Station is the next one on the line. Take Exit number 7, and it’ll be on your right after about two blocks of walking.

      Here’s the address – feed it into Google: 서울시 중구 신당1동 292-112. This isn’t the place where YongSeo went, but it’s the original ddukbokki place (the YongSeo one is right next to it, though, so choose accordingly).

      As for taking pictures outside their house, it’s a private residence now. That being said, there’s no law that says you can’t, so I suppose the answer is yes, you can.

      1. ancru says:

        wow, thank you so much for all your help. I really appreciate it! 🙂

  2. bob says:

    Mountain Madman,

    Awesome post, I miss Halmoni Jib like you wouldn’t believe. One day I’ll return to Seoul and this will be the first stop

Leave a Scribble

