Oneshot: Stories

Psst. Hey, you.

 

Yes, you. Who else would I be pointing to? Come closer.

 

Would you like to hear a story? It’s a very interesting one. No? Oh, you have to be somewhere? Worry not, I’ll walk along with you.

 

Oh, you don’t have to run – I’m sure you’ll get wherever you’re going in plenty of time. I’m telling you, it’s something you’re going to want to hear! It’s a story about myself, about how I came to be…how I came to exist.

 

You’ve stopped now. Good. That’s the first step.

 

Sit down. Please, the ground’s soft. Don’t worry, even though you can’t see me, I can see you just fine. You don’t have to act all worked up, you know. I won’t hurt you.

 

How do you know, you ask.

 

Well, if I had meant to…I would have already, hmm? You sure don’t have much intelligence. I’m beginning to wonder if you want to hear my story.

 

No, no, no – don’t stand up, I was only joking. Sit down, sit, sit.

 

You can stop looking around you – you’re not going to see me.

 

Am I invisible, you ask?

 

No, not quite – I’m not sure what I am exactly myself.

 

No, I’m no ghost. I exist – I’m real – I’m talking to you right now! And you’re talking to me!

 

What am I? Who am I?

 

I suppose you can say that I’m just…someone that slowly melted away, like tiny grains of sand melting through an hourglass.

 

And as the golden grains trickled through…they also trickled through my pores, collecting like dust at my feet.

 

You don’t understand. You think that I’m just a voice in your head. Very well. I shall prove to you that I exist – you had, for breakfast this morning, two eggs (sunny side up), three strips of bacon (crispy), a tall glass of orange juice, and an English muffin.

 

That doesn’t prove anything, you say. If I had been inside your head, I would’ve seen all that. I understand. I’m not going to try and force you to pretend that I exist – although I, myself, know that I do.

 

Let’s assume for the moment that I’m just a figment of your imagination, and you need to get yourself to a doctor. That’s all well and good, but are you sure you don’t want to hear my story?

 

The hospital’s closed, you know…

 

 

 

Leave a Scribble

