K-Pop Music Reviews: T-ARA – Yayaya

Title: Yayaya

Release Year: 2010


Oh, boy. If I had to pick one mainstream K-idol song that could be labeled as “experimental”, this is it.

The girl group T-ARA consists of 7 members: Boram (the oldest and the leader), Qri (don’t ask me how it’s pronounced), Soyeon, Eunjung, Hyomin, Hwayoung, and Jiyeon. They debuted in 2009, which makes them seniors by industry standards. Yes, in the world of K-pop, if you last a year after your debut, you’re considered to be a senior.

By the way, don’t ask me why Korea has this weird fetish about girl groups with tons of members in them. Seriously; first we have SNSD (9 members), then After School (8 members), KARA (5 members), f(x) (5 members), Rainbow (7 members), Girls Day (5 members)…I can go on and on and on. Maybe it’s a group-consciousness kind of thing? *shrugs*

Anyways, back to T-ARA.

I actually like T-ARA’s music quite a bit – being relative rookies, and without the massive entertainment industry support that the big seniors garner (ex. SNSD, Super Junior), they have to put more effort into their music – and it shows. Their early songs were, in a word, amazing – “Lies”, “I Go Crazy Because of You”, and even the borderline-psychotic “Bo Peep Bo Peep” are all songs that I personally like, and listen to often.

With “Yayaya”, it looks like they have another hit on their hands (in my opinion, anyway – but in any case, this is my review, right?).

To be honest, when I first heard this song, I thought it was absolutely horrible. A chorus that didn’t go anywhere, lack of any vocal talent whatsoever (not that T-ARA didn’t have vocal skills – just that this song failed so showcase them), and worst of all, a preponderance of “WTF?” lyrics.

The lyrics. Seriously. Read them.

U look at me
Right T-ARA
U Ready?

Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
Shubidubi ShaLaLaLaLa
Both of us YaYaYaYa
Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
Shubidub Su Supa Nova

Sizzling like fire, we are hot hot
Round and round with dazzling eyes ah ah
Yo ma Yo ma Lova Lova
Yo ma Yo ma Supa Nova
U Hee U U Hee

Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
In front of you, oh, I feel small oh I like you
Shubidubi ShaLaLaLaLa
Both of us YaYaYaYa
I only see you
U Hee U U U U U U U U Hee Hee Hee Hee Hee

Oh Go it Go it Go it Go Go it Go Go it Go
I put my heart out exactly Ah Ah
Both of us Do it Do Do it Do Do it Do
Throw me the bouquet Ah Ah
Ah Ah Ah Go it Go it
Ah Ah Ah Do it Do it
Ah Ah Ah Go it Go it Go it Go Go it Go
Many Many Many as you, as you pass by
My heart is beating, beating, beating, I’m so nervous
Go it Go it Go

Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
Shubidubi ShaLaLaLaLa
Both of us YaYaYaYa
Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
Shubidub Su Supa Nova

Burning hot, look at my eyes hot hot
Look at my wild restless body Ah Ah
Yo ma Yo ma Lova Lova
Yo ma Yo ma Supa Nova
U Hee U U Hee

Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
Inside oh going crazy oh
My good boy
Shubidubi ShaLaLaLaLa
Both of us YaYaYaYa
I only see you
U Hee U U U U U U U U Hee Hee Hee Hee Hee

Oh Go it Go it Go it Go Go it Go Go it Go
I put my heart out exactly Ah Ah
Both of us Do it Do Do it Do Do it Do
Throw me the bouquet Ah Ah
Ah Ah Ah Go it Go it
Ah Ah Ah Do it Do it
Ah Ah Ah Go it Go it Go it Go Go it Go
Many Many Many as you, as you pass by
My heart is beating, beating, beating, I’m so nervous
Go it Go it Go

Let me seeya LaLaLaLa
Love me hey YaYaYaYa
U make me go LaLaLaLa
Baby boy U So Hot Hot Hot
Ha Ha U n Me only us Yes We
It’s our P.A.R.T.Y
With hearts that continue to cry

Oh Go it Go it Go it Go Go it Go Go it Go
I put my heart out exactly Ah Ah
Both of us Do it Do Do it Do Do it Do
Throw me the bouquet Ah Ah
Ah Ah Ah Go it Go it
Ah Ah Ah Do it Do it
Ah Ah Ah Go it Go it Go it Go Go it Go
Many Many Many as you, as you pass by
My heart is beating, beating, beating, I’m so nervous
Go it Go it Go

Let me seeya LaLaLaLa

I knew I would have a chance to use this image again.

Seriously?? “U HEE U HEE U HEE” and “Go it go it go it go” do not qualify as lyrics, T-ARA. I’m sorry. They just don’t.

Fortunately for T-ARA (and unfortunately for my brain), I like the song. So I’m willing to cut it a little slack – it’s not like they’re much worse than some of the other so-called “lyrics” floating around.

Here’s why I like the song. Yes, I know – in a good review, the words would transition naturally into the good points, and then the bad points, and then would wrap everything up with a little bow at the end. But, as of yet, my reviewing and writing skills have yet to reach a level of proficiency that would allow me to do that, so…anyways. The good points.

Put simply, this song is a lot of fun. Even though the chorus may be on the manufactured side – in fact, it is 100% on the manufactured side – the fact of the matter is, T-ARA’s voices suit this kind of song. And while the lyrics may seem nonsensical, when placed in the context of the song, they strangely sound…good. There’s a strange quality to the music that keeps bring you back – and despite some use of autotune (especially prevalent in the “Super-NOVAAAAA” and the “U-HEEEE” parts), it’s not nearly enough to sink the song, thankfully. The electronica background does their part, as well.

In fact, one of my favorite parts in the entire song comes at around the 2:15 mark in the music video. If you listen to it carefully – and I mean carefully, preferably with a set of headphones – you can make out an electric guitar in the background, playing what may possibly be one of the catchiest rhythms ever in the world. It transforms what used to be a bland chorus into something that’s completely different, new, and fresh.

Despite the overall manufactured feel of the song, and the horrible – there’s no other way to put it – lyrics, T-ARA’s “Yayaya” is, while not high art, a fun song to listen to – and, I’m slightly sorry to say, not much more.

3.5 out of 5 stars.


PS. The next music review will be Orange Caramel’s “Bangkok City”. Hands down. I’m doing it.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Scribble

