K-Pop Music Reviews: F.T. Island – Love Love Love

Title: 사랑사랑사랑 (Love Love Love)

Release Year: 2010

Disclaimer: I don’t know the first thing about FT Island, except that their lead singer (Lee Hongki) is ridiculously cute. But this is a music review, not a band review, so…full steam ahead!

F.T. Island is a 5-member rock band formed under FNC Entertainment. Their lead singer, like I said before, is Lee Hongki; he starred in the 2009 SBS drama, “You’re Beautiful”, along with Jang Geun-Suk and Jung Yonghwa (!!!). And that’s where my knowledge of F.T. Island stops. Sure, there are 4 other members, but do I know their names? No. Do I know their history? Not really, except there were a couple of member shuffles, and they also debuted in Japan.

Their newest album, "Beautiful Journey". Yeah, if I had known their names, it would've been the caption instead.

So why am I reviewing this song? Well, simply put, I think it’s a song that deserves a review.

When my mom first heard “Love Love Love”, she commented that it sounds a lot like old-timer Korean trot music. And in many respects, it really does. It features the same quick-upbeat slow-downbeat tempo that virtually all trot music utilize, and if you tweak the instrumental a little bit, it could really pass for an early-90’s example of Korean trot.

If you’re unfamiliar with Korean trot music, here’s an example.

If I had to pick out just one thing I had to like about this song – and there are many – it would be this. Looking forward and looking backward simultaneously, “Love Love Love” manages to invoke the romantic past of Korean trot ballads while managing to stay within the current parameters of Korean rock.

F.T. Island has often been compared to C.N. Blue in terms of musical style. They’re both similar Korean rock bands, both under the same company – FNC Music – and both feature the same complement of instruments (mostly). However, and this is just my opinion, F.T. Island’s style is much more “mature” – they’re not afraid to experiment with the new, whilst C.N. Blue – who are comparative rookies – play it a bit more safe. (I’ll cover C.N. Blue in a separate review.)

It must be admitted that Lee Hongki doesn’t have the greatest voice ever. His vocal range is a little limited, and it lacks the depth that is really needed to make a song stand out from its peers. However, he still carries this song well – fortunately for him, it’s not a song that requires a ton of vocal talent. But what is there, he does it well.

As a song that isn’t afraid to go against the tide and add something new, while maintaining its modern roots at the same time, F.T. Island’s “Love Love Love” earns:

4 stars out of 5.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Adeline says:

    I reviewed this song when it was released, back in… Uh… September I think? It was time to go back to school, and at that time, I thought that the song was perfect for this atmosphere. The pleasant beat has somehow a “summer” vibe with good rhymes, while the melody has more of a “automn” feeling.The song itself is really catchy… You listen to it once, twice, and then put it on repeat. I can’t speak a single word of Korean (well, apart from the basics like annyeong haseyo or gamsahamnida, I can’t), but I know it by heart, and I love singing it very loud will driving (only when I’m alone in the car).
    This song is very good, way better than all of their Japanese stuffs.
    I can’t agree with what you said about Hongki’s voice. Honnestly, I think that it’s great and I really really like it. It’s true that I don’t know many things about music, but I still think that his voice has a little something more… I don’t know. There’s just something that I like about it.

Leave a Scribble

