My Experience with Company ‘X’

Hmm. Okay, so I want to get this off my chest.

I applied as a summer intern to a company – let’s call it company ‘X’.

The fault was at both sides here: I made some hasty decisions and irresponsible mistakes, they were irresponsible in that they did not do as well as they should have maintaining proper communication.

Whatever the reasons may be, the end result was that I was not offered the internship.

There’s probably a valuable lesson to be learned here, but right now, I’m just completely frustrated – both at myself and at company ‘X’ – to make heads or tails out of the whole situation.

This is what I *DO* know:

-I made a communication error on my part the first time the interview was scheduled.

-Company ‘X’ promised to send me another time within the week. A week passed, then two. No email.

-I sent out an email asking about it.

-They replied that they would be contacting me, and asked me to provide them my contact info.

-I provided the correct information. I waited at the designated hour for the call. It never came.

-Another email exchange. This time, I would call them. At the same time.

-I called at the designated time. No answer. Twice. Thrice.

-Right when I was about to shoot off another email – considerably more biting this time – I received a call. The representative said they had been in a meeting. The call went forward.

-The major point of contention was a post that I had made on this blog (now deleted) concerning their timekeeping habits. I admitted it was a poor decision on my part, apologized for the confusion, and deleted it.

-The representative promised to give me a call on Monday with further results.

-Four hours after the call, I received a brief, automatically generated email saying that I did not make it.

 

I don’t really know how to feel about this. Do you? Leave a comment. Berate me, console me, whatever. Just say SOMETHING.

Leave a Scribble

